Eventually Soulmate’s Meet For They Have The Same Hiding Place <3

10/10/2014

I grew up in a fairly strict and religious family. Although we spoke only English at home and my father was, and still is incredibly patriotic- the 5 daily prayers required by Muslims were never missed in our home. Thursdays were meditation days and every other weekend was an observance of a tradition at the local Mosque. No alcohol would ever touch my lips, nor the casual cigarette. No parties, except family oriented. My culture, Indian, and my religion, Islam, were not lost on me or my 3 younger siblings. As I have grown older, I am incredibly grateful for the way in which my parents raised my siblings and I. I pride myself on the values I carry. My cultural and religious upbringing, although admirable, would serve to be a challenge when I met husband in the summer of 2013 in the vibrant city of San Francisco. We met as young, enthusiastic business students. He, hailing from Belgium, and I a California native. We were as different as day and night (literally!) He was raised Christian, Dutch speaking, and a bit of a slone :]! I was raised Muslim, English speaking, and a complete nerd. I like to think we met because God made us meet. What were the odds that the man of my dreams would come all the way from Belgium to my doorstep in Cali? We were both placed in a team of 6 in our first semester of grad school. The first day we met was the first day of classes. After class, he asked the whole team if we wanted to get together over coffee to get to know each other better. The whole team had plans except for me. I agreed, and walked across the street to Starbucks where I ordered a green tea and he bought a yogurt. I remember my first impression of him as, “Ugh…prep.” He was your typical preppy, trust fund looking kid, the iPhone, the Macbook, the wingtip shoes, polo, and gelled to the side hair. We sat across from each other discussing why we chose an international business school, what our career goals were, who we were during our undergrad studies, etc. We talked for a few hours, I had to leave to catch a Bart train home. I said my goodbye’s and that I would see him tomorrow. He smiled and asked if he should walk me to station since it was starting to get dark. I politely declined and we walked in opposite directions. The 15 minute walk to the station was bizarre. I couldn’t stop thinking about how much I disliked this guy. Who did he think he was, ” I’ll take a yogurt, I don’t drink caffeine.” Excuse me, but you suggested Starbucks! I called my then fiancé to let him know I was on my home. The whole train ride home I fumbled in my head about how irritated by this guy I was. I didn’t like him, at all. His energy irked me. He was a bit kiche, a bit arrogant, and European. Eww. How the hell did I meet him & hate him in September and fall in love with him by April? Read my next post to find out how I finally upgraded to a man that knew my worth 🙂

Leave a Reply

